Controversial Judicial Nomination Coming Soon

Dear Friends,
Last year, the Virginia General Assembly rejected the nomination to District Judge, of Tracy Thorne-Begland, an activist who worked with the radical Human Rights Campaign to promote the homosexual agenda.
The State Circuit Court Judges in Richmond appointed him anyway.  The House of Delegates Courts of Justice Committee will vote Monday, January 14th, to forward his name and that of other Judicial nominees to the full House of Delegates and Senate for a vote as early as Tuesday, January 15  or Wednesday January 16.  Please take a few minutes to ask your own state delegate to oppose his appointment on the following grounds:
  1. Tracy Thorne-Begland considers himself married to a man, raising two children.   Same-sex “marriage” is not legal in Virginia.
  2. The Military discharged Tracy Thorne-Begland for violating its “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” policy. This means he broke the civil law yet judges are supposed to uphold the law.
  3. Judicial temperament is not consistent with political activism.  He worked with the Human Rights Campaign, a radical organization which pushes laws promoting lesbian, bisexual, homosexual and transgender behavior.
  4. Advocating for homosexual behavior which violates at least four millennia of Western moral teaching undermines the natural traditional family and does not serve the public good.
  5. District Court Judges can be tapped for higher courts.  If he disregarded the law in the past, how can we be sure he will not continue judicial activism at a higher level even in federal courts?
If you do not know who represents you in the House of Delegates, click here:
Here is the roll-call vote of the House of Delegates from last year.  A total of 51 votes is required to approve.  If your delegate voted against the nomination, please thank him/her and encourage him to vote the same way.  If your delegate voted for the nomination, please urge him to reconsider.  If your delegate did not vote, urge him/her to vote against the nomination.
Thank you for your help.
delegate bob marshall signature
Delegate Bob Marshall
  1. David B. Albo, R-Fairfax
  2. Kenneth C. Alexander, D-Norfolk
  3. Mamye E. BaCote, D-Newport News
  4. David L. Bulova, D-Fairfax
  5. Betsy B. Carr, D-Richmond
  6. Barbara J. Comstock, R-Fairfax
  7. Rosalyn R. Dance, D-Petersburg
  8. Peter F. Farrell, R-Henrico
  9. Eileen Filler-Corn, D-Fairfax
  10. Charniele L. Herring, D-Alexandria
  11. Patrick A. Hope, D-Arlington
  12. Algie T. Howell, D-Norfolk
  13. Matthew James, D-Portsmouth
  14. Mark L. Keam, D-Fairfax
  15. Terry G. Kilgore, R-Scott
  16. L. Kaye Kory, D-Fairfax
  17. James M. LeMunyon, R-Fairfax
  18. Lynwood W. Lewis Jr., D-Accomack
  19. Alfonso H. Lopez, D-Arlington
  20. G. Manoli Loupassi, R-Richmond
  21. Jennifer L. McClellan, D-Richmond
  22. Delores L. McQuinn, D-Richmond
  23. Joseph D. Morrissey, D-Henrico
  24. Thomas Davis Rust, R-Fairfax
  25. James M. Scott, D-Fairfax
  26. Mark D. Sickles, D-Fairfax
  27. Lionell Spruill Sr., D-Chesapeake
  28. Scott A. Surovell, D-Fairfax
  29. Luke Torian, D-Prince William
  30. David J. Toscano, D-Charlottesville
  31. Jeion A. Ward, D-Hampton
  32. Vivian E. Watts, D-Fairfax
  33. Joseph A. Yost, R-Montgomery
  1. Richard L. Anderson, R-Prince William
  2. Richard P. "Dickie" Bell, R-Staunton
  3. Robert B. Bell, R-Albemarle
  4. Kathy J. Byron, R-Campbell
  5. Benjamin L. Cline, R-Rockbridge
  6. Mark L. Cole, R-Spotsylvania
  7. John A. Cosgrove, R-Chesapeake
  8. John A. Cox, R-Hanover
  9. L. Mark Dudenhefer, R-Stafford
  10. James E. Edmunds II, R-Halifax
  11. C. Matthew Fariss, R-Campbell
  12. T. Scott Garrett, R-Lynchburg
  13. Thomas A. "Tag" Greason, R-Loudoun
  14. Gordon C. Helsel Jr., R-Poquoson
  15. M. Keith Hodges, R-Middlesex
  16. Timothy D. Hugo, R-Fairfax
  17. Salvatore R. Iaquinto, R-Virginia Beach
  18. Barry D. Knight, R-Virginia Beach
  19. L. Scott Lingamfelter, R-Prince William
  20. Daniel W. Marshall III, R-Danville
  21. Robert G. Marshall, R-Prince William
  22. Jimmie Massie, R-Henrico
  23. Donald W. Merricks, R-Pittsylvania
  24. James W. "Will" Morefield, R-Tazewell
  25. Brenda L. Pogge, R-James City
  26. Charles D. Poindexter, R-Franklin County
  27. David I. Ramadan, R-Loudoun
  28. Roxann L. Robinson, R-Chesterfield
  29. Ron Villanueva, R-Virginia Beach
  30. Michael B. Watson, R-Williamsburg
  31. Tony O. Wilt, R-Rockingham
Abstensions (10) 
  1. M. Kirkland Cox, R-Colonial Heights
  2. Anne B. Crockett-Stark, R-Wythe
  3. Riley E. Ingram, R-Hopewell
  4. R. Steven Landes, R-Augusta
  5. Israel D. O'Quinn, R-Bristol
  6. Lacey E. Putney, I-Bedford
  7. Larry N. Rush, R-Montgomery
  8. Edward T. Scott, R-Madison
  9. Beverly J. Sherwood, R-Frederick
  10. Chris Stolle, R-Virginia Beach
Not voting (26)
  1. Robert H. Brink, D-Arlington
  2. David L. Englin, D-Alexandria
  3. C. Todd Gilbert, R-Shenandoah
  4. Gregory D. Habeeb, R-Salem
  5. Christopher T. Head, R-Roanoke
  6. William J. Howell, R-Stafford
  7. Johnny  S. Joannou, D-Portsmouth
  8. Joseph P. Johnson Jr., D-Washington County
  9. S. Chris Jones, R-Suffolk
  10. Joe T. May, R-Loudoun
  11. Jackson H. Miller, R-Manassas
  12. J. Randall "Randy" Minchew, R-Leesburg
  13. Richard L. Morris, R-Isle of Wight
  14. John M. O'Bannon III, R-Henrico
  15. Robert D. Orrock Sr., R-Caroline
  16. Christopher K. Peace, R-Hanover
  17. Kenneth R. Plum, D-Fairfax
  18. Harry R. Purkey, R-Virginia Beach
  19. Margaret B. Ransone, R-Westmoreland
  20. Robert Tata, R-Virginia Beach
  21. Roslyn C. Tyler, D-Sussex
  22. Onzlee Ware, D-Roanoke
  23. R. Lee Ware Jr., R-Powhatan
  24. Michael J. Webert, R-Fauquier
  25. Thomas C. Wright Jr., R-Lunenberg
  26. David E. Yancey, R-Newport News